Youth & Families Commission

Families at Corn Fest

The Youth and Families Commission of the City of Sun Prairie, whose duty will be to increase the community's awareness of the positive contributions made to the community by the youth and families and to help groups within the city to work on making Sun Prairie a better place for the city's youth and families.

The mission of the Sun Prairie Youth and Families Commission (reaffirmed March 2013) is to enhance the quality of life for the residents of the Sun Prairie School District. The Youth and Families Commission seeks to promote healthy behaviors, lifestyles, and the community conditions that empower people to be self-sustaining, contributing members of their families, schools, work places, and the community.

See a full description of the Youth and Families Commission under Chapter 2.60 of the Sun Prairie Municipal Code of Ordinances.


Read the bylaws (PDF) for the Youth and Families Commission (Updated September 2015).


The Youth and Families Commission meets on the first Thursday of each month with the exception of July and October, when they meet on the second Thursday.


Current members as of November 2017 include:

  • Karen Bailey, Adult Member
  • Taj Bourenane, Student Member
  • Pastor Charmaine Burns, Vice-Chair
  • Chasity Collins, Student Member
  • Maureen Crombie, Council Representative
    Email Maureen Crombie
  • TJ Hansen, Ex Officio Member
  • Peg Hanson, Adult Member
  • Mary Ellen Havel-Lang, Adult Member, Chair
    Email Mary Ellen Havel-Lang
  • James Hodge, Student Member
  • Jett Maertz, Student Member
  • Lynn Montague, Ex Officio Member
    Email Lynn Montague
  • Jennifer Parks, Adult Member, Secretary
  • Thedora Smith, Adult Alternative
  • Jeanne Wellman, Adult Member
  • Jack Wilkinson, Sun Prairie Police Department
    Email Jack Wilkinson